The highest award given by the MAB, the Lifetime Achievement Award, honors Michigan broadcast pioneers, living or posthumously, who have dedicated the majority of their professional careers to broadcasting in the state of Michigan and has distinguished himself or herself through a lifetime of service as a top manager or owner through excellence in broadcasting.

In 1989, the MAB began this tradition of honoring individuals for their outstanding careers with the Lifetime Achievement Award, however, understanding that there were many outstanding individuals in the Michigan broadcasting industry, the MAB board developed the Michigan Broadcasting Hall of Fame. The Hall of Fame encompasses all Lifetime Achievement Award winners and also recognizes other broadcasters in various areas of the industry for their leadership, achievements and contributions to their communities.

Bothe the Lifetime Achievement Award and the Hall of Fame ceremonies are held each year during the MAB’s Summer Advovacy Conference.

2017 Honorees and Inductees

2017 Lifetime of Distinguished Public Service Award Recipient
2017 Lifetime Achievement Award Recipient
2017 Michigan Broadcasting Hall of Fame Legacy Award

Sen. Debbie Stabenow (D-MI)


Marla Drutz, WDIV-TV (Detroit)


Linda Lee*, WYCD-FM (Detroit)

2017 Michigan Broadcasting Hall of Fame Inductees

Rob David, Handyman Productions (Novi)


Erik Smith, WXYZ-TV (Detroit)


Dick Estell, WKAR-AM (East Lansing)